Bible, Day 20, The wife turns into a pillar of salt! Like, can we talk about this?!

Genesis 19:1-21:34

Summary: Sodom and Gomorrah, Lot and his daughters, Isaac is born

I just want to start this off by saying that this probably didn’t happen. I’m prolly preaching to the choir here, but it has to be said. I’m sure there have been worse cities sprouted since Sodom and Gomorrah, and yet none of them have tasted the burning sulfur. A good many people take such extreme acts of god as ‘metaphors’. And what I enjoy bringing up is if these great acts of Mr. Lordy Lord never happened, what does he actually do? When do the metaphors became literal occasions? And what do these stories really mean? We all know that Sodom and Gomorrah wasn’t really about homosexuality, but hospitality and thereforerage it is WAY better to have Lot’s daughters get raped by a whole bunch of men than two male guests getting raped by a whole bunch of men. :l

14 – So the sons-in-law thought he was joking? Didn’t think to shine some magic on them or show them all the guys who were blinded? I like how they get like a few words and then people just move on.

22 – “but flee there quickly, because I cannot do anything until you reach it.”- Everybody look here! “I CANNOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL YOU REACH IT” Oh yes, I’m taking this super literally, there’s absolutely no reason not to. God couldn’t somehow go around Lot and the good people? And again, it’s about Mr. Lordy Lord REMEMBERING Lot. Do the gods forget? Like, I really need to know.

26 – So she turns into a pillar of salt. Why even make looking  back punishment? If I was Lot’s No-Name Wife, and I get to heaven or hell and I get told I died when I looked back and I became a pillar of salt? If this motherfucker don’t get out of here! And why salt? Do y’all know just how valuable salt was? There’s no rhyme or reason to these things, but most likely the Hebrew goatmen that told these stories thought their Hebrew audiences would get everything.

37-38 – STFU, these girls raped their father, they got pregnant, and Papa was like whatevs? This is further ammunition for the goatmen, no one today would think this was okay- well, people with sense. But to goatmen (I’m assuming) preservation of the line was all-important. “Moabites” and “Ammonites” of today? Well, this puts the timeline down pretty good, doesn’t it? I know somewhere in my ancestry there were some guys made by incest, but I don’t want to know where or when!

20:17  – Slave girls. What a pleasant world.

21 – The lady has a name! Her name is Hagar and God helped with the baby name Ishmael and Hagar GOT HIM a wife in Egypt. Got him one. Like a sheep.

There are descendants listed from Genesis 25:12-18 and 1 Chronicles 1:28-31, because that stuff is important to goatmen

I forgot about the rating system, but when I finish writing about the reading for the day, I don’t really want to return to it. I’m a bad blogger.

One thought on “Bible, Day 20, The wife turns into a pillar of salt! Like, can we talk about this?!”

Leave a Reply

