Bible! Day 6, and why Mother Teresa is a saint (though she was terrible)

Job 4:1-7:21

Summary: Pep talk from Eliphaz, and Job’s pity party continues

4:7-11 – Okay, I have NO idea where this naivete comes from, and I’m pretty sure ol’ Eliphaz is talking about the present life and not what sowage you get once you enter the pearly gates. I could be wrong though. 7- “Should not your piety be your confidence and your blameless ways your hope?”  I suppose, if you believe that you’ll eventually get the good you deserve after a bad stroke, but Jesus, why go through the bad, for what reason? Because God likes to test you and see you come back?

21 – “Are not the cords of their tent pulled up, so that they die without wisdom?” – Is wisdom really worth your whole family getting killed and being tortured? Job was a pretty awesome guy before all this (and God said so, to Satan), and he still hasn’t cursed God (even though this is definitely partly his fault, the jackass), what’s the point of this? Oh, makes for a good story doesn’t it? It’s a good plothole filler for all the times people go through hardship- it all means something, it’s fantastic, it’s Christian, suffering is deliverance. Main reason why the maniac Mother Teresa is becoming a saint.

Job 5:13 onward – “He catches the wise in their craftiness and the schemes of the wily are swept away.” But he let Satan destroy all Job had for a silly bet that benefits NO ONE.

Flashback– Okay, so angels and Satan go visit God. Where is God located that they have to travel to see him????

Job 7:16-17 – “I despise my life; I would not live forever. Let me alone; my days have no meaning.” OKAY THE JOKE’S NOT FUNNY ANYMORE. How can anyone read this and be anything but irate? Well, there is still more to this discussion. Maybe I’ll feel better after the next reading.

  1. Plot  – 5, I’m very much interested on how this discussion develops….
  2. Credibility – 5, Oh yea, this has happened many many many times in life
  3. Reliability – 4, Sure one can rely on this for support, but I wouldn’t. It just isn’t enough, sorry.
  4. Clarity – 5, Crystal Clear.
  5. Reality – 5, Even though I, personally, won’t find solace in these verses, I think many people do. This discussion is the basis of many faiths- I don’t understand why I haven’t heard more of Job on the whole. Maybe because he’s overshadowed by another man whose name starts with J.
Leave a Reply

