Bible Babble! Day 5!

Job 1:1-3:26

I’ve heard the stories but I don’t think I’ve ever read this in detail. I.e. Something completely new!

1:22 (and similar verses)  – “In all this, Job did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing.” Okay, everyone, everyone, let’s say I gave someone the money and the means to kill your whole family, make you sick, and take all  you had. I would be one evil motherfucker, wouldn’t it? Of course this book is all about suffering like Mother Teresa  (or at least her followers), and still loving God because God likes his followers to suffer and still kiss his ass. How does this seem like a good story in the beginning? I do, however, like this verse, 10, “Shall we accept good from God, and not trouble?”

Here, I see it may mean that God is responsible for the good and the bad? Omnibenevolence indeed.

Also, 2:1 (and similar verses, because the Bible likes to repeat itself- oral recitation and all that) – “On another day the angels came to present themselves before the Lord, and Satan also came with them to present themselves.” Satan rolling with him homies to talk to God? And Satan likes to fuck with God and have him do bets? How long does this last?

2:1-2esp. “And he still maintains his integrity, though you incited me against him to ruin him without any reason.” Oh, so it’s all Satan’s fault? You couldn’t put the poor dear through a nightmare where none of this ACTUALLY happens? Or may it happens and loses his memories? Like, how do the children feel being used as pawns like this? This is some bullshit.

3 – Yea, this is what happens when people are put to the end of their rope. I’m wondering what the replies are, for I’m sure it’ll be some good stuff (this is not sarcasm, I really do believe that!)

  1. Plot 3-  Very interesting. I’m actually looking forward to the next day. I hope there is some good advice to come!
  2. Credibility 3- Yea, this is believable- well, not all those messengers at the same time or anything (that’s what makes it fake as hell) but if things were that bad, repeatedly? Yes I could see it.
  3. Reliability 5– I bet you can rely on this chapter and the rest of Job to see how you can use your made up religion to get through your life’s problems
  4. Clarity 5- I wish it wasn’t written like some epic poem. It’s hard for me to take it seriously, or to just look for where the figurative language is hiding.
  5. Reality 4 – Pretty sure this is a common part to go to for Christians for help through tough times. I’m not sure though.
Leave a Reply

