Frozen? I’mma Let it Go!

 

You know what it is.
You know what it is.

I went to see the movie with my dear sister and remember being completely, how should I say this, the complete opposite of flabbergasted or awed or wowed?  I am not, by any means, a pretentious elitist. I do not like using the word ‘overrated’- I don’t really use it unless you’re the Assking of making something overrated.

So, imagine my shock when I come across some articles saying how Frozen is the highest-grossing animated film ever, over Toy Story 3. Moreover, not that many people seem all that surprised and I’m just like

Unimpressed gif

 

And it bothers me because I feel like I’m missing out, as if I’m missing something or that I was too stupid to recognize something. So I started listening to the apparently hit song from the movie (Thanks Disney for making it easy!):

Nope, don’t like the song any better the fourth/fifth time. I actually actively don’t really enjoy Idina Menzel’s voice *dodges rockets* It reminds me of the music for Rent, which I don’t enjoy in the slightest, especially when they get higher in the volume.  I’m certain she’s hitting the right notes and I can understand if one enjoys such singing, but it’s more grating than anything especially in this song.

Also, not that I’ve noticed obviously, but we haven’t received an animated musical since Tangled.

shrug gif

 

However, it’s a big deal to some people, and some critics say that is one of the parts to Frozen’s stellar success. Another part? Apparently ‘putting romance in the back seat’ to focus on the relationship between two sisters was a new thing, despite one of the bad guys being a love interest for Anna, and one of the guys who help her for the majority of the movie is her final love interest, and that there were love songs for both men. But yea, back seat.

I have to admit though, I truly and honestly wasn’t expected that guy to betray her. Maybe because I was used to the very terrible dialogue from Oglaf (and others) who love spouting exposition, even when we didn’t need it. The part where Anna saves Elsa and Oglaf says exactly what happened, that was the final straw. I was just annoyed. I know the movie is made for kids, but I didn’t get that from almost any other animated Disney film.

Also, Oglaf wasn’t nearly as annoying as I thought he would be. When I first saw the commercial for Frozen years ago, I saw Oglaf and was like, welp, not for me! Then I saw better commercials and knew he was merchandise the mascot character.

frozen oglaf

 

And he was sweet, even if I knew the words before he even said them.  Sadly, his song, nor any of the others really got my attention. Though I did enjoy Anna’s “First Time in Forever” or whatever. Nothing to buy the soundtrack for though.

I wish I can join in the hype, because I like enjoying things in crowds and feeling I belong and such (plus, my sister loves the movie, and so do a lot of the people on campus), but it was a cheesy movie with music I barely enjoyed.

And that it has made more money than Toy Story 3 pisses me the fuck off. It objectively isn’t that good. Why?!

Leave a Reply

