Kuroko no Basuke or Why I love Sports Anime! or Why I hate Sports Anime!

Rating: 9/10

  • 10= Orgasmic and will watch again, by myself
  • 9= Awesomesauce, high chance of watching again, by myself
  • 8= Fantastic, medium chance of watching again, by myself
  • 7= Great, there’s a chance of watching by myself
  • 6= Nice, would need inspiration to watch by myself
  • 5=Good, will watch again , with friend(s)
  • 4= Average, medium chance of watching again, with friend(s)
  • 3= Below Average, low chance of watching again even with friend(s)
  • 2= Ho-hum, no chance of watching again
  • 1= Bad, regret watching

Vassalord Review

K Project

Uta no Prince-sama

Biases and pet peeves relevant to this anime with correlating points that don’t mean much:

  • Good Fanservice +30
  • BL Fanservice +70
  • Equal Fanservice +100
  • More realistic than not +40 (Mostly pertains to martial arts or sports anime)
  • Holy Animation Budget! +100
  • Tasteful Drama+200 (Gets higher than norm because it wouldn’t have been hard to be over the top)
  • Humor +50 (It is hilarious!)
  • Powerful women +70 (The main coach is a lady in high school!)
  • Protagonist loses +10 (I mean, it happens, but I was really geared for them winning aaaaaand..)
  • They aren’t naked nearly enough
  • Wasted beach episode -100
  • Dialogue at unrealistic times, even in head -100 (It was really conspicuous, too. Plus, they did a good job of it at other times)
  • We tried (Sis is here)

470 Points! You know what, I think it is kind of better than K Project… I mean, categorically it is, but to me… Yea, it is. I prefer the nature of shows like K Project, but comedy with a bit of drama (with no one dying) really helps out in me liking it overmuch.

Lemme me give you the biz:

This guy (Kuroko)
This guy (Kuroko)
meets this guy (Tagami)
meets this guy (Tagami)

This guy on the left (Kuroko) meets this guy on the right (Tagami). They fall in love but never admit it to each other.

The end.

For seriously though, Kuroko and Tagami become freshmen at a high school which has a pretty new basketball club. Tagami’s coming back from going to school in America, and Kuroko’s coming from Teiko Middle School. This school was the best middle school-  a Generation of Miracles appeared and had them winning National championships and all that.

But dear Kuroko wasn’t part of the main team, for he’s a really weak player. However, his passes kick so much ass he was called the sixth player. This anime deals with Kuroko and Tagami, a guy in fantastic shape for basketball, and their team against other teams, including the teams the other members of the Generation of Miracles joined.

Okay, so I did not expect to get into this anime as much as I did. After Prince of Tennis (which I’ve watched most of and liked a bunch) and trying, and failing at, Slam Dunk and Major, I was sort of unwilling to give this anime a chance.

Then I saw the fanart.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, when the fanart from people is this heavy, it usually draws from okay to official foundations. The bunch o’ guys thing drew me- but it could have been like Major, which I didn’t get into, or Prince of Tennis, which I wasn’t really feeling anymore.

So my sister and I started watching it on Crunchyroll. There’s a running gag that Kuroko is unnoticeable because he has no presence (or emotions- well, he does but… you gotta watch him deadpan the silliest things).

Deadpan

Deadpan 2

I found the humor very American, with sarcasm and such straight-faced announcements around every turn, while most comedic anime focuses on something absurd. You know, like many cartoons aren’t really about clever jokes, just crazy stuff happens and you’re supposed to laugh? In many American cartoons (the one catering to older audiences, and just plain good ones) that sort of humor is prevalent and the poor children are growing up too early!

Anywhowage, the realistic basketball drew me in so fast I’m still feeling the whiplash. Sure, the do soliloquies in the middle of jumping, but for the most part, you aren’t going to be against the laws of physics.You would think that would eventually get boring buuuut between Kuroko and Tagami not getting along, losing, and the fair amount of airtime for plenty of other characters to shine and this show game me something pretty well-rounded and an absolute delight to watch.

Kise vs Aomine

Very nice. Very nice throughout. I suggest that even if you don’t like sports, its very good for the characters and humor. If you don’t like sports anime, I think this is actually a change of pace from many- except for maybe Major, which I never finished.

Also, cute thing:

Color

Kuroko: The ‘kuro’ of Kuroko means black, pertaining to his shadow-like illusion quality, I presume.

Akagi: The ‘aka’  Akagi means red! Don’t know much about him yet….

Kise: ‘Ki’ of Kise means yellow (or the color of energy like lightning or electricity- and he’s the most energetic!)

Aomine: ‘Ao’ means… Okay, you get it.

Midori(ma) and Murasaki(bara) the last two. I thought at first- wow, how original, characters named after the color of their hair.

Then I realized I know no other anime where the characters are named after the color of their hair. XD Watch Kuroko no Basuke!

P.S. I ship Tagami/Kuroko, Aomine/Kuroko and Aomine/Tagami super hard. I didn’t know so many thought of a solution of them having a threesome. *-*

10 thoughts on “Kuroko no Basuke or Why I love Sports Anime! or Why I hate Sports Anime!”

  1. I gotta agree with you. The humor is truly fantastic–I love it. I agree most of them with you, especially with the fanservice /shot/, humor! The color chart is true too, which I found amusing, really. And if you read the manga, the newest chapters, there is someone who completes the color lol. I’m sorry for the spoiler if you haven’t read it though. I find the matches very entertaining as well, even though there are some ‘wow’ facts; Perfect Copy, Zone, etc like that.
    But what I dislike about this.. is that many fans often compares this anime with Slam Dunk :/

    1. Completes the color? :O What’s.. missing? Lol. I haven’t heard a whisper of Slam Dunk, really… Maybe because a bunch of yaoi girls don’t have much interest in Slam Dunk, haha. It’s so ugly…

      Kuroko’s whole disappearing act is pretty wow, too. Though I’ve had it happen to me a lot- okay, maybe not, haha.

      1. Yeah.. Rainbow /shot/ Niji XD I wonder if Fujimaki-sensei would make a new character with ‘orange’ in it, then it completes the Rainbow orz okay okay, joke joke :D
        Haha.. are you a yaoi fan? Yes, I agree about the artwork. They say that Slam Dunk is the best basketball manga! Screw Kuroko no Basuke. I always hear that around the net, tires me out. I think both are great mangas.

        Yes, I had it happen to me too! My teacher asked the class questions and I got skipped 3 times when finally the teacher notices me XD My friends were shocked seeing me in front of the teacher the whole time. Because of that, I got called the female version of Kuroko lol. orz haha

        1. I can’t waaaaait to seeeee him!

          I think orange would be hard, since they bastardize ‘orange’ in Japanese for orange. I don’t even know if there is a real word for orange. XD

          I am most definitely a yaoi fan- you haven’t noticed?!

          I’m sure they are. I don’t really fight for stuff being the best- but I do fight for them being good.

          Hahaha, I started sitting in the front because teachers wouldn’t see me. And it’s odd because I’m like the opposite of Kuroko and wear my heart on my sleeve.

          What’s orz?

          1. Haha, go read the manga then XDD

            Lol, I guess it’s true. I tried searching for possible names for oranges and failed terribly x3 However, I did find a fanfic called “To Our Untold Future” in fanfiction net, by an author namely Infinite Skye.There’s a character named ‘Tousaka’ and she said Tou means orange, lol.

            I haven’t ahaha… I’m quite new at this blog thingy, and just recently saw you blogging. Even though I saw the pictures at your post, I’m not quite sure lol.

            Me too.

            Wkwkwk xD Well, orz looks like an emoticon where a people is bowing like that so.. yeah ^^

            1. Noooo, I’m watching the anime… There’s going to be more, right? If not, I’ll start reading. :D

              Whelp, I looked it up- seems like that is indeed true! Why don’t they ever use it though?

              Aaaaaah, hahahahaha

              Now I see… orz

  2. “This guy met that guy. They fall in love but never admit it to each other.” Ohmigosh, as a KagaKuro fan I loved that. KuroBasu is the only sports animanga I’ve ever gotten into. Though it has become my favorite series. Also, I agree they wasted a perfectly good beach episode. They could have at least practiced shirtless.

Leave a Reply

